[PRINT this page] [E-MAIL a friend] [send us feedback] [home]
Dems Chant 'Shame!' As GOP Bullies House Vote

based on a report by David Edwards. October 7, 2005

Republican House members DeLay, Barton, Hastert and Blunt held the vote open on a controversial energy bill until they were able twist enough arms for the bill to pass.

Although only 5 minutes are allotted for voting, Republicans refused to close the voting for 40 minutes until enough votes had switched to pass the energy bill which will gut environmental standards in favor of building more oil refineries.

As reported by Reuters:
When over two dozen Republicans initially voted no, DeLay, Barton, House Speaker Dennis Hastert and new Majority Leader Roy Blunt circled the chamber to cajole holdouts.

Republican Wayne Gilchrest of Maryland was the last to switch. With the tally stuck at 211-211, Gilchrest changed his vote, making it 212-210. Barton promptly shook his hand and Republican Mike Simpson, who presided over the vote, gaveled it to an end.
Several Democrats protested that the vote was held open. "I am informed that every member of Congress who is in town has voted," Democratic whip Steny Hoyer of Maryland said at one point, when the tally was 210 yes, 214 no.

House Democratic leader Nancy Pelosi also complained, saying the proceedings brought "dishonor to the House."

You have been reading excerpts from "Dems Chant 'Shame! Shame!' as GOP Bullies House Vote" by David Edwards. You can read the entire piece here: tinyurl.com/9f62u. Thanks to bradblog.com. We visit often and we hope you will too.

Powered by Blogger